Happy Veteran’s Day

On Veteran’s Day: Sincere Thanks to All Who Serve (and to Those Who Watch and Wait)

As I pondered what I could post for Veteran’s Day, no inspiration was forthcoming.  However, today’s episode of a news program I frequently watch ended with footage of military homecomings, so I thought this would be appropriate.  It’s my favorite compilation of military homecomings.  Every once in a while, I like to watch it to remind myself of the sacrifices that those who serve (and have served) have made so that I may enjoy the peace, the freedom, and the other blessings that I enjoy.  Be sure you watch it to the very end: that scripture is from the Pearl of Great Price of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  I think it’s applicable to a great many joyful reunions.  And for those of you who have lost loved ones in conflict, may you find the faith and hope to know that one day will be reunited with your loved ones.  As I’ve said many times, both on the blog and elsewhere, I don’t know what it’s like to lose a loved one in the line of duty, but I do know what it’s like to pray for his safe return. God bless all those who serve, along with their families and friends.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uSMlIM9zLio

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Veteran’s Day

  1. You might enjoy this poem about families and absence, “While He’s Away: A Poem About Being Gone.” http://wp.me/p3BzWN-lB

  2. Pingback: Merry Christmas to All Who Serve | My Blog

Leave a Reply

