That’s My King

A Devout Mormon Tips His Hat to the Rev. Dr. S.M. Lockridge for His Masterful Sermon, “That’s My King” 

By Ken K. Gourdin 

I ran across this old thread which I originally posted at Mormon Dialogue and Discussion Board (last accessed today):  http://www.mormondialogue.org/topic/53121-might-be-in-hot-water-with-some-for-posting-this/.  It’s my brief commentary regarding excerpts from a sermon by the Rev. Dr. S.M. Lockridge which have been set to music and incorporated into an audiovisual presentation featuring various depictions of the Savior.  Here’s a direct link to the presentation (last accessed today): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzqTFNfeDnE.  Here’s the audio of the full sermon (last accessed today): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4BhI4JKACUs.  (Rev. Lockridge takes awhile to get going, but when he does . . .)

I headlined the MD&DB thread, “Might be in hot water with some for posting this” because Rev. Lockridge was an Evangelical pastor and formerly earthly shepherd of the flock at Calvary Baptist Church in San Diego.  I had some not-so-pleasant run-ins (along with, to be fair, several more pleasant interactions) with some members of his flock when I served there as a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints from November of 1988 through November of 1990.

As I said in commentary on the thread Faith (and truth) is where one finds it, and, as I have said so many times before, God rewards us all for making our best efforts to live according to whatever light we have been given.  Rest in peace, Reverend Lockridge.  Although we never met, if the power of even mere excerpts from this sermon are any indication, your successors have had big shoes to fill.  I hope that, despite your absence, your former flock is thriving, and that your successors successfully have lived up to the challenge of meeting the high bar you set.

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

