20 Independence Day Favorites

Just 20 of My Favorite Things About U.S. Independence Day

 By Ken K. Gourdin

This was going to be my sole – or at least my primary – post about Independence Day this year; that is, until I started writing my “Proud to be an American” post and I ended up with two different strands of thought that I figured would work best if each were its own post.  I’m glad that inspiration hit, because as much as I appreciate the things on this list, I wanted to write about more than just superficial things on such an important day.  Anyway, here is my list of “Just 20” of My Favorite Things About U.S. Independence Day.  In no particular order, they are:

 

 1. Cheerleaders, pep girls, and beauty queens
 2. Marching bands
 3. Vintage cars
 4. Horses
 5. Floats
 6. Old Glory’s ubiquitousness
 7. Men and women in uniform – the older, the better
 8. Unabashed expressions of patriotism
 9. Fireworks
 10. Rodeo
 11. Pondering freedom
 12. Honoring the Founding Fathers
 13. Patriotic music
 14. Quotes from the Founding Fathers and other great leaders
 15. Pondering the sacrifices of those who serve my country and community
 16. Being with family and friends
 17. Thanking God for my many blessings – freedom, to be sure, but many more
 18. Recording my thoughts about freedom and what makes it possible
 19. The combination of Numbers 9 and 12
 20. When the rodeo emcee asks all of those who’ve served to stand

 

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 20 Independence Day Favorites

  1. Pingback: What I’m Thankful For | Commentary on the passing scene

Leave a Reply

