UPS’s Newest, Youngest Employee

Kudos to UPS, and to Their Newest, Youngest Employee 

By Ken K. Gourdin

It was while working as a telephone customer service representative for UPS that I reached the conclusion that I didn’t want to spend all my workday, every workday, answering phones for a career.  Still — while I was passed over for 16 different positions and 28 separate openings when I sought to advance from customer service – I bear the company no ill-will, I was reasonably well treated, and I do have some fond memories of my time there.

Although they don’t need me to provide their positive public relations (and a representative of the company told me as much in a 30-second phone conversation I had with her about the possibility of using my communication skills for the company in that area), this did catch my eye, and UPS does deserve kudos for granting this young man’s wish (link to the Deseret News last accessed December 8, 2014):

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865617241/The-Clean-Cut-UPS-driver-grants-4-year-old-boys-wish.html?s_cid=comment-email-a.

While I won’t hold my breath for this young UPS fan to show up at my door anytime soon, I wanted to extend the invitation anyway.  (And kudos to the driver, Ernie, for taking the time to befriend his biggest young fan!)  In response to the story, my on-line comment said, “Carson, you can deliver my packages ANY TIME, Bud!”  (And I wouldn’t mind having one of those miniature Pullman brown UPS package cars, either!)

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

