Ken’s Christmas Media Faves

A Few of Ken’s Christmas Media Favorites

By Ken K. Gourdin

This post is apt to be somewhat redundant because I’ve already mentioned just a few of my favorite pieces of Christmas music, and some of that fondness bleeds over into this post, as well.  That said, I would like to take the opportunity to mention, not only a few of my favorite musical works for this time of year, but also few of my favorite Christmas works in other media, as well.  Perhaps some of these works overemphasize the commercial aspects of Christmas, or perhaps their creators don’t (or didn’t) do as good a job “walking it like they talk it” with respect to the blessings of Christmas as they might have liked us to believe.

Such human foibles, follies, and frailties notwithstanding, while this sentiment may mark me as a naïve soul, I believe it’s the thought that counts.  Should you be aware of any such shortcomings in these works or in the lives of their creators, I invite you to treasure that which is of value in them, and to cast what dross remains aside.  In no particular order, and without further ado, here they are:

1 As I note above, at the risk of being redundant (since I have already devoted a blog post to it), Dr. Seuss’s (aka Theodore Giessel’s) How The Grinch Stole Christmas.  Even after the Grinch stole everything he thought mattered to the Whos about Christmas, its true significance still remained.  Whatever we do or do not have in this life, whoever else does or does not love us, there is a God in Heaven who loves us, and because He loves us, He sent His Son to live and to die for us.  See here for a link to the earlier post, which contains my reading (last accessed December 15, 2014): https://greatgourdini.wordpress.com/2014/12/13/how-the-grinch-stole-christmas/.
2 Michael McLean’s The Forgotten Carols.  While I have never seen a stage production of this, and while I have never read the book, both of those things are very much on my Holiday Season To-Do List.  As I have mentioned elsewhere on the Blog, I do love many of the songs: I can relate to the sentiment in I Cry The Day That I Take The Tree Down; even if we are Homeless, so was Christ, and because of His sacrifice, we will have a heavenly home no matter how humble our earthly circumstances may be; while I cannot relate to the parental inadequacy at the root of I Was Not His Father, I do feel inadequacy in other areas of my life; Handel’s Dream reminding us that we all have talents to share; and Let Him In, reminding us to make room for Christ, this season and always.  Link last accessed December 12, 2014: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=”The+Forgotten+Carols”+Michael+McLean
3 Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol, particularly the stage production.  In the spirit of Seuss’s Grinch, the ice that surrounds Scrooge’s hard heart is melted as he comes to realize the real reason for the season.  Like Scrooge and the Grinch, there is no heart that the Christmas season cannot touch if we only let it in.  (Perhaps, if I am feeling especially ambitious some holiday season, I will read Dickens’s work in its entirety and link to it on the Blog.  For now, see here (last accessed December 12, 2014): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvdMjXhPGd0
4 Frank Capra’s It’s A Wonderful Life.  As someone who often wonders whether he has made, is making, and will make a significant enough contribution to matter in the lives of the people around him, I love Capra’s reminder that often, we are not able easily to see the positive impact we have on the lives of those around us without the sort of reminder that Clarence provided for George Bailey.
5 Charles Schulz’s A Charlie Brown Christmas.  I suppose one can now see a theme (a common thread) running through many of my selections.  It’s natural for one who wonders whether he is making a significantly meaningful contribution to the lives of those around him during the rest of the year to feel that sense of seeming inadequacy especially keenly at this time of year.  But, if even the Lovable Failure, Charlie Brown, can be made to sense his significance at Christmas, then surely the most humble of the rest of us can, as well.  See here, last accessed December 14, 2014: http://www.hulu.com/watch/113808.
6 Miracle on 34th Street.  There may not be sufficient admissible evidence to prove the existence of Santa Claus in a court of law, but, in the spirit of little Virginia O’Hanlon’s letter to The New York Sun, he lives in the hearts of children (old and young, big and small) everywhere. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvGKq7T9OD4
7 Handel’s Messiah.  As a recent documentary aired on BYU-TV demonstrates, the fact that what is now considered Handel’s greatest work ever was produced is something of a miracle. For the documentary, see here (last accessed December 15, 2014):  http://www.byutv.org/watch/c981eb70-3199-4d1f-8a65-8fa6b70d6946/handels-messiah-handels-messiah.  For portions of Handel’s work itself as performed by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, see here (last accessed December 15, 2014):  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OsbpU3fvf7Q&list=PLGb7IfxIbxlYIOFCdjDnFWECwqApWznb3&index=3
8 W. Clement Moore’s classic Christmas poem, A Visit from Saint Nicolas, aka Twas The Night Before Christmas.  I read it on the blog last year.  See here, last accessed December 14, 2014: https://www.soundcloud.com/ken-gourdin/twas-the-night-before.
9 I’ve made mention of my fondness for the song, Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer here on the blog before.  Here is one filmmaker’s retelling of the story (last accessed December 14, 2014): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZO6Sb6PThs.
10 Frosty, The Snowman.  This, too, captures the magic of childlike innocence this time of year (last accessed December 14, 2014): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCdVXJZazNE.
About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

