A Word About For-Profit Education

A Word on Rocky Vista University, and on the Enterprise of For-Profit Education

By Ken K. Gourdin

Salt Lake City’s Deseret News recently reported on the plan of Rocky Vista University, a chain of for-profit osteopathic medical schools, to open a branch campus in Ivins, Utah, near St. George. See the story here, last accessed July 29, 2016:

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865658223/New-medical-school-will-be-Utahs-second.html?pg=all

If I were going to get a medical degree, this might be the path I would need to take (though, frankly, as much as I love learning, I could only see pursuing such an option if I suddenly were to become independently wealthy, in which case I would not, of course, need the degree).  I am someone who, frankly, despairs of ever getting the education I already have to pay off for me, so I constantly have to remind myself that as bad as things seem, they definitely could be worse. See, e.g., here, last accessed August 2, 2016:

https://greatgourdini.wordpress.com/2014/11/04/law-school-transparency/ 

I commented as follows:

Generally, I’m somewhat ambivalent about for-profit education. While it is not in medicine, I do have an advanced degree (a Juris Doctor from the “U”). Due to circumstances that, largely, are beyond my control (though admittedly, not entirely so) I am not likely to be licensed to practice anywhere anytime soon. Yes, I know: I should have chosen to get an advanced degree in something more useful, such as medicine. Law, by contrast, has become a very expensive hobby. Meanwhile, while my current employer has treated me well, I have come full-circle, and am back doing the sort of job I went to law school to try to escape: answering phones.

Another school that accepted me is a for-profit, Thomas Jefferson School of Law in San Diego. As much as my current circumstances might leave to be desired, I shudder to think where I would be if I’d incurred 3-4 times the debt I have. All of that said, here’s hoping that RVU is successful in its stated goal of easing the primary care shortage in underserved areas, such as Utah.

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

