How Will God Judge Us?

Will God Judge Us as Harshly as We Judge One Another? 

By Ken K. Gourdin

In one sense, the answer to the question posed in my title is, “Yes”: “For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with whatmeasure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again” (Matthew 7:2, KJV).  On the other hand, Joseph Smith, founder of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (popularly known as Mormons for their signature scripture—though they believe in the Holy Bible, as well—The Book of Mormon) is once reported to have said (as quoted by another poster at Mormon Dialogue and Discussion):

But while one portion of the human race is judging and condemning the other without mercy, the Great Parent of the universe looks upon the whole of the human family with a fatherly care and paternal regard; He views them as His offspring, and without any of those contracted feelings that influence the children of man, causes “His sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust” (Matt. 5:45 KJV).

I responded:

I love it.  This is not, of course, doctrinal, but I picture a scene before the judgment in which the All-Just, All-Merciful Judge in which He asks, e.g., “Does anyone have any information that’s germane to the case of Kenngo1969 [my screen name] before I pass judgment on him and send him to his final reward?” whereupon some of us might seize upon that opportunity as a chance to litigate the “cases” we feel were not justly resolved in mortality and might say, e.g., “Master, Kenngo1969 was horribly unjust [uncharitable, etc.] to me when he did [x] in our dealings with one another.” Whereupon the Master might put a hand on our shoulder and say, “Yes, I can understand, given that experience, why you might not be well-disposed to him.  But I wonder how much you know about the burdens he was carrying at the time.  As it happens, because I atoned for his sins, I do know more than you might about those burdens.  Let me tell you about some of them …”

 

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

