LDS and Human Suffering

Does The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Do Enough to Alleviate Human Suffering?

By Ken K. Gourdin

In response to the 2,400,200,100,000th thread at Mormon Dialogue and Discussion wondering whether the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints does enough to alleviate human suffering, I wrote:

I’m all for alleviating the physical suffering of our fellow beings as much as possible. We should, indeed, reach out to succor one another according to our needs. But Christ also said, “The poor ye have with you always, but me, ye have not always.” The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints can, should, and does partner with people of good will wherever it can to alleviate such physical suffering. But the Church stands alone in its mission to offer authorized, saving ordinances to the world, and it cannot abdicate that mission.

A good Roman Catholic brother wrote:

I would only substitute “the Holy Catholic Church” for “the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints”. Some people are so earthly minded that they can do no heavenly good. We have differences Kenngo [my screen name]. Not insignificant. But God help us to be together in the day of Jesus Christ. Well said.

To that, I replied, “If you’re not in Heaven, Rory, then I certainly don’t want to go! I daresay that what unites us is far, far more significant than what divides us. I wish you well.

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

