LaVell Edwards the Prankster

A Tribute to the Mischievous Side of the Dear, Departed Coach LaVell Edwards, Along With a Word on Contract Formation: Coach Edwards, the Prankster

By Ken K. Gourdin

The passing of former Brigham Young University coaching legend LaVell Edwards, for whom the former Cougar Stadium was renamed, has been much in the news of late. On his Blog, Sic et non, at Patheos, BYU Assistant Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies Dan Peterson posted of an encounter he had with the old coach at a charity auction.

He wrote of a well-to-do individual who is now a General Authority of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (I shouldn’t speculate: I would say Jon M. Huntsman, but, insofar as I know, Brother/Elder Huntsman was an Area Authority rather than a General one, and he since has been released; Elder Clayton M. Christensen, maybe?) who frequently (and apologetically) had to excuse himself to attend to several business phone calls during the evening.

Former San Francisco 49ers quarterback and graduate of BYU’s J. Reuben Clark Law School Steve Young was the auction’s emcee. I’m about to finish Brother Young’s autobiography, QB: My Life Behind the Spiral, and will comment here when I do. Each time this wealthy brother excused himself, Coach Edwards would use the brother’s auction paddle to place bids. By the end of the evening, the brother ended up with several unexpected purchases. I wrote:

Let’s see. Law is my enormously expensive hobby. Going to law school, and finishing, was probably a mistake, but my only other alternative, it seemed, was answering phones, and I knew I didn’t want to do that for the rest of my life. With that said, I hark back to my Contracts class from, lo, those many years ago.

This gentleman did not confer any authority on Coach Edwards to act as his agent, and since buyer was not present for the transactions, there was no meeting of the minds between buyer and seller, so … ;-D (Was this auction before or after Steve Young got his law degree? If the latter, Brother Young ought to have known there was no way Coach Edwards could bind this gentleman …) ;-D 😀

And since I’m not licensed, I’d better issue the usual disclaimer: None of the foregoing is intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. Individual situations and circumstances vary, as does the law of each jurisdiction, and no attempt should be made to apply the foregoing legal analysis (such as it was! ;-D) to any other set of real-world facts. Anyone in need of legal advice should contact an attorney who is licensed to practice in the jurisdiction where the matter arose.

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

