RIP, Judge Robert Hilder

A Brief Memory of Former Utah 3rd District Judge Robert Hlder: Rest in Peace, Your Honor, and Condolences to Family, Friends, and Associates

By Ken K. Gourdin

The Salt Lake Tribune reports that former Utah 3rd District Judge Robert Hilder, who was serving as Summit County Attorney at the time of his passing, has died. See the Tribune’s coverage here, last accessed April 26, 2017:

http://www.sltrib.com/home/5222202-155/former-utah-judge-robert-hilder-dies,

Several years ago, I met Judge Hilder briefly at an event sponsored by the S.J. Quinney College of Law at the University of Utah in Salt Lake City. I commented:

My own encounter with Judge Hilder, although it was brief and did not involve appearing before him, was, nonetheless, enough to leave a strong impression on me. He struck me as careful, compassionate, and (when circumstances warranted it) witty. I trust the opinions of those who hold him in high regard because of their professional dealings with him, and I’m sorry I never got the opportunity to encounter him professionally myself. We could do much, much worse than to take Judge Hilder as a role model, and, conversely, we couldn’t do much better (if, indeed, we could do better at all). Sincere condolences to all most deeply affected by the loss. Perhaps the greatest tribute any who are left behind could offer Judge Hilder is to strive, as much as possible, to emulate him.

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

