Knife at Gun Fight

Never Bring a Knife to a Gun Fight

By Ken K. Gourdin

A Utah driver pulled a knife on a Utah Highway Patrol trooper who stopped him for speeding in a construction zone.  See coverage of the incident in Salt Lake City’s Deseret News here (last accessed June 12, 2017):

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865662865/Police-Man-threatened-UHP-trooper-with-knife-after-being-pulled-over.html

I commented:

Never bring a knife to a gun fight. Reminds me of the time two guys, one with a baseball bat and the other with a tire iron, confronted each other on the local main street. My father, who served on the town’s police force for 30 years, pulled up. The one said, “I’ve got a baseball bat”; the other said, “I’ve got a tire iron.”; my father reached down, unholstered his duty weapon, and said, “And I’ve got a .357.” Guess who won?

About kenngo1969

Just as others must breathe to live, I must write. I have been writing creatively almost ever since I learned to write, period! I have written fiction, book- and article-length nonfiction, award-winning poetry, news, sports, features, and op-eds. I hope, one day, to write some motivational nonfiction, a decent-selling novel, a stage play, and a screen play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

